Greatwood & New Territory Permanent Zoning

Now that New Territory and Greatwood are annexed into the city limits of Sugar Land, zoning will apply to all properties.  Zoning is the way local governments can regulate the physical development of land and the uses that are allowed to be developed on property. It is also a tool used to guide decision making for improvements to existing property to ensure it is consistent with the surrounding environment. Zoning protects neighborhoods from development that does not harmonize or is not compatible with the surrounding area.

Permanent Zoning Phases

Permanent zoning within New Territory and Greatwood will be applied in the following phases:

  • Phase I - Replacing Interim R-1-I in New Territory with permanent commercial zoning districts for areas that are commercially developed. – Phase I completed on May 1, 2018.
  • Phase II – Permanent zoning in Greatwood of residential townhomes and non-residential areas without interim commercial zoning. Phase II completed on August 21, 2018.
  • Phase III - Permanent zoning of non-standard single-family residential in Greatwood (properties platted as zero-lot line residential (patio homes). Phase III completed on December 18, 2018
  • Phase IV - Permanent zoning of non-residential areas with interim commercial zoning in Greatwood. Anticipated Spring 2019.
  • Phase V - Permanent zoning of standard single-family in New Territory and Greatwood anticipated 2019.
  • Phase VI – Remainder of property in New Territory.