Go To Search
How Do I... - Sugar Land Resource Center

2017 City News Releases

Posted on: March 8, 2017

Elections Canceled for Unopposed Races

Sugar Land, Texas - The elections for City Council Districts 1, 2 and 3 were cancelled on March 7 after no one filed to run against the incumbents.

Councilmembers Stephen R. Porter, District 1, Bridget R. Yeung, District 2, and Amy L. Mitchell, District 3, were declared as elected to office for two-year terms and will take their oaths of office on May 16.

District 4 councilmember Harish Jajoo did not seek reelection. An election to fill his City Council position will be held on May 6 with three candidates on the ballot -- Sean Burnett, Carol McCutcheon and Qaisar Q Imam. Only registered voters residing within District 4 will vote in the election.

For candidate bios and voting information, visit www.sugarlandtx.gov/election.
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in 2017 City News Releases

Sugar Land Receives Clean Audit

Posted on: February 23, 2017

New Ordinance Addresses Distracted Driving

Posted on: February 22, 2017

Cultural Kite Festival Set for March 4

Posted on: February 9, 2017

Police Investigating Bank Robbery

Posted on: February 6, 2017

Woman, Accomplice Wanted in Kroger Theft

Posted on: January 23, 2017

This is Sugar Land