Solid Waste Task Force

City Manager Michael Goodrum appointed a 17-member Solid Waste Task Force to develop the recommendations for the future of solid waste and recycling in Sugar Land. The Solid Waste Task Force has discussed many elements of solid waste and recycling, including the City’s current level of service, possible service modifications for the future, and different options related to customer service, educational outreach, financial acceptability, and environmental protection.  

Solid Waste/Recycling Planning Process Diagram

The next step in the process is the gathering of resident feedback. This step will include the execution of a statistically-valid community wide survey to ensure Sugar Land’s solid waste program aligns with community expectations. Residents will also have the opportunity to participate in an upcoming Online Town Hall to provide additional feedback to the Solid Waste Task Force. Then, recommendations will be submitted to the City Council following completion of the task force’s work. 

Duties and Responsibilities

The Solid Waste Task Force is responsible for the following:

  • Participating in round-table discussions regarding the development, review and prioritization of residential solid waste program goals; 
  • Utilizing the identified goals to determine the strategies (i.e. services) that best meet those goals; and 
  • Making a recommendation regarding the residential service levels that should be utilized in the city’s next solid waste contract.


Get Involved

Please visit Notify Me to sign up to receive updates as the Solid Waste Task Force evaluates resident feedback and develops recommendations for the future of solid waste and recycling.

Should you have any questions, please call 311 or 281-275-2900.


Solid Waste Task Force

HOA Board Member Appointments
Steven Tralie
Venetian Estates HOA
Pierre Daniel
Gannoway Lakes HOA
Jack Molho
Imperial HOA
Ping Zhou
Telfair HOA
Chip Smith
Greatwood HOA
Louis Manuel
New Territory HOA
Phyllis Murray
First Colony Community Association
Non-HOA Board Member Appointments
Mandy Reyes
Covington Woods
Edward Chen
Rob Pritchard
New Territory
Janet Roberts
Colony Grant
Pete Gillie
Angela Johnson
Cathy Stubbs
Sugar Creek
Arvind Thekdi
Phillip Butler
Vicki Gist
Keep Sugar Land Beautiful