News Flash

Archive 2 - 2018 News Releases

Posted on: May 21, 2018

Sugar Land Selects Volunteer of the Year

Volunteers of the Year - May 2018

Sugar Land, TX - The city of Sugar Land recently named Annette Shinsky-Hollis as the 2017 Volunteer of the Year.

Shinsky-Hollis, who serves as the president of the Citizens Fire Academy Alumni Association (CFAAA), coordinates the Firefighter of the Year program and assists in administering an annual college scholarship program for children of firefighters.

Under her leadership, CFAAA volunteers provide dinner to employees working at fire stations and the public safety dispatch center during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.  

Sugar Land’s Serve Sugar Land program has coordinated volunteer efforts in the city since 2007 as a way for the citizens of Sugar Land and surrounding neighborhoods to become involved in their city government.

In 2017, Serve Sugar Land contributed 27,115 hours of volunteer service to the city, equating to over $654,556 in in-kind service donations.

Each year, city departments are asked to select and nominate a volunteer who enhances the delivery of city services by sharing their skills, positive outlook and fostering an atmosphere of community.

The employee of the year was selected by the city’s executive team from a list of the following 10 people who were selected by departments as their volunteers of the year.

  • Becky Adams, Accounting
  • Jack Bich, T.E. Harman Center
  • Patrick Bourque, Permits and Inspections
  • Brenda Frye, Municipal Court
  • Cheryl Harris, Animal Services
  • Ellen Hickmon and Trudy Thompson, Human Resources
  • Elizabeth Paul, Police Department
  • Annette Shinsky-Hollis, Fire Department
  • Dave Sullivan, Police Department Community Assistance Support Team

“The generous efforts of our volunteers enables the city to further expand, enhance and enrich the services it provides to the community in new and innovative ways,” said Director of Public Affairs Cindy Dees. “Volunteers are crucial to our success.  While it’s impossible to measure the true extent of their service, I feel strongly that their contributions are invaluable to our city’s success.  We are grateful for the efforts of our many volunteers who take the time to do their part to ensure that Sugar Land remains an exceptional place to live.”

To learn more about how to become a volunteer with the city of Sugar Land, visit or call 281-275-2329.  

Photo Caption: Serve Sugar Land Volunteers of the Year and their staff nominators include (Front Row, L-R) Lt. Wayne Coleman, Dave Sullivan, Elizabeth Paul, Cheryl Harris, Annette Shinsky-Hollis, Permits Supervisor Debbie Morrison, Becky Adams, Community Engagement Coordinator Kayla Lauhoff, (Middle Row) Capt. Eric Volkmann, Director of Human Resources Paula Kutchka, Ellen Hickmon, Animal Services Manager Kathryn Ketchum, Trudy Thompson, Municipal Court Administrator Kendra Beverly, Brenda Frye, Recreation Coordinator Carla Allen, Jack Bich, Deputy Chief Accountant William Pena, Mayor Joe Zimmerman, (Back Row) Council Member Himesh Gandhi, Council Member Amy Mitchell, Council Member Steve Porter, City Manager Allen Bogard, Council Member Carol McCutcheon, Council Member Bridget Yeung and Council Member Mary Joyce. Not pictured is Patrick Bourque.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Archive 2 - 2018 News Releases

Gunmen Attempt to Rob Walgreens

Posted on: December 31, 2018

Game Stop Gunman Leaves Without Cash

Posted on: December 20, 2018
Imperial Sugar Char House (1)

A Sweet Jamboree Celebration

Posted on: November 16, 2018

Police Searching for Ray-Ban Thief

Posted on: November 8, 2018

Charter Review Commission Appointed

Posted on: November 7, 2018
Chief Doug Boeker

Doug Boeker Named SLFD Fire Chief

Posted on: November 2, 2018

SLFD Fire Chief Announces Retirement

Posted on: October 10, 2018

City Open House Set for Oct. 30

Posted on: October 2, 2018

Town Hall Meeting Set for District 4

Posted on: October 1, 2018

City Council Approves Budget, Tax Rate

Posted on: September 21, 2018

Sugar Land 101 Class Applications Available

Posted on: September 20, 2018

Town Hall Meeting Set for District 3

Posted on: September 13, 2018

Task Force Votes for DNA Request to State

Posted on: September 10, 2018

Businesses Burglarized by Same Man

Posted on: August 17, 2018
Police Chief Eric Robins

Eric Robins Named SLPD Police Chief

Posted on: June 11, 2018

Sugar Land Receives Clean Audit

Posted on: March 12, 2018
Three Arrested for Mall Shooting

Three Arrested for Mall Shooting

Posted on: March 8, 2018

SLFD Exceeds Community Expectations

Posted on: March 7, 2018

EGGStravaganza Set for March 24

Posted on: February 22, 2018

Crime Rate in Sugar Land Hits Historic Low

Posted on: February 21, 2018

Cultural Kite Festival Set for March 3

Posted on: February 9, 2018
Wells Fargo Bank Robbery Aaron Rodriguez

Police Searching for Bank Robber

Posted on: February 9, 2018

Post Hurricane Harvey Projects Ongoing

Posted on: February 7, 2018