Legislative Task Force

The goal of the Legislative Task Force is to provide a public engagement component to the creation of the city’s legislative agenda. The LTF examines specific legislative issues that impact the way the city provides public services.

The 13-member LTF is comprised of two independent homeowners, one Home Owner’s Association representative, six business owners, two members of Sugar Land’s Boards and Commissions, one Sugar Land 101 current student or alumnus and one student. 

The Legislative Citizen Task Force’s commitment began in June 2022 and will end December 2023. The LTF had five meetings in June and July 2022. After this five-meeting commitment, they will meet monthly during the legislative session, January 2023 through May 2023, with the Office of Intergovernmental Relations to receive legislative updates and to provide feedback on legislative issues. Post-session, the LTF will meet as needed. 

During the first five meetings, LTF members received information from key city staff, legislative partners and legislative consultants who specialize in municipal issues. Issues include, but are not limited to municipal revenue and finance, land use, regulation and development, economic development, advocacy, and public safety. The monthly meetings will allow the LTF to receive legislative updates from city staff and provide feedback on legislative issues. 

2022-23 Legislative Task Force Members

Resolution No. 22-31 was voted on and adopted by the City of Sugar Land City Council on July 5, 2022. This allowed for the formation of the 2022-23 Legislative Task Force which began its session on July 20, 2022 and will continue until the end of the 88th Texas Legislative session. Membership for the Legislative Task Force is as follows. 

Name & Position Appointed 

  • Rocaille Roberts - Homeowner
  • Sheba Luke - Homeowner
  • Erin Cummings - Business
  • Karthi Patchamuthu - Business
  • Mal Lusky - Business
  • Robert White - Business
  • Sean Sevy - Business
  • Tariq Zafar - Business
  • Paula Noble - Boards & Commissions
  • Theodore Lieb - Boards & Commissions
  • Andrew Gratz - SL101 Graduate
  • Phyllis Murray - HOA
  • Rajeswari Mahesh - Student

Duties and Responsibilities

The Legislative Task Force is responsible for the following:

  • Review the city’s current legislative position statements and provide feedback on where changes may be needed to better reflect the community’s perspective;
  • Provide a unique, citizen perspective through discussions with task force members, city staff and city partners on legislative issues that impact city services;
  • Make a recommendation on the State Legislative Agenda for the 88th Session of the Texas Legislature to City Council for consideration; 
  • and serve as community advocates for the City’s legislative program during the legislative session.

Get Involved

Should you have any questions, please email Intergovernmental Manager Rick Ramirez at rxramirez@sugarlandtx.gov or call (281) 275-2451.