Sugar Land Development Corporation

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


Seven directors appointed to serve two-year terms.
Term Expiring
Stewart Jacobson President
May 1, 2024
Naushad Kermally Vice President
May 1, 2024
Joe Zimmerman
Director May 1, 2025
William Ferguson Director May 1, 2025
Jennifer Lane Director May 1, 2025
Suzanne Whatley Director May 1, 2024
Carol McCutcheon Director May 1, 2024


Sugar Land Development Corporation was approved by City Council and established as a non-profit corporation in April 1993.


To promote, assist, and enhance economic development activities in the City of Sugar Land.

Duties & Responsibilities

The Sugar Land Development Corporation is a “Type A” economic development corporation governed by a Board of Directors and authorized under Texas law to levy an economic development sales tax to promote, assist and enhance economic development activities for the benefit of the City. As part of these responsibilities, the Board of Directors is charged with overseeing the SLDC’s Direct Incentive policy and program, as well as making recommendations on the City Economic Development Strategic Plan. The corporation utilized a .25 cent sales tax approved by voters for the purpose of funding economic development activities. The main requirement for the voter-approved tax is the recruitment and retention of primary employment within the City. Learn more about the SLDC >>